The Good, the Bad, and the Awesome

This weekend was full of ups and downs (rolling hills, if you will ;)  Let’s start with the good:

The Good…

We got brunch with some friends from out of town at Iron Gate!
036The food was really tasty, starting with their famous Greek yeast doughnuts with orange blossom syrup…040and the eggs and cotechino for me.  I actually didn’t like the cotechino (type of sausage) that much; next time I’ll stick with steak and eggs.  The fried potatoes though were perfect!
041We haven’t seen some of these friends since graduation! We had a great time catching up and exchanging stories from the past couple of years.044Mike and I also discovered a new favorite froyo place that evening – Crave! It has tons of candy toppings mounted to the walls, and the froyo is the best we’ve had in Virginia – perfect consistency and great taste.  The best part? It’s less than a mile from us :)046 048

The Bad…

As we left brunch, we discovered a parking ticket on the hood of our car =\ Tell me, does it look like we’re taking up two parking spaces!? We’re only barely past the meter (I’m planning to contest this, btw).

034

We also had to skip small group Saturday night because we both weren’t feeling well, which is a shame because we really like the other couples in our small group and were looking forward to getting to know them better. We were cooking in a hot kitchen on a muggy day, and I think we both just felt nauseous afterwards.  Hopefully we’ll make the next one!

Now the worst of the bad – I accidentally downloaded a virus on my computer on Sunday and had to spend a good portion of the day restoring it (more accurately, Mike restored it…).  Thankfully, I was able to save all the important stuff (pictures and video files) before we had to wipe it! I’ll be installing anti-virus software this time around.

The Awesome!

Now for the little piece of mail that made my weekend! Remember that time that U.S. Airways lost our bag in Atlanta and we had to go shopping so that we could attend a friend’s wedding? What I didn’t mention at the time was that I filed a reimbursement claim for the clothes we had to buy (since we didn’t know our bag would be found). Our bag was recovered later that night so I didn’t really expect to get anything, but the lady at the baggage claim counter said it was worth a shot so I submitted it anyway.

Well, imagine our surprise when we received a check in the mail from U.S. Airways this weekend! It didn’t cover everything I submitted, but it covered most of our expenses (Mike’s suit and a few other things). We were incredibly grateful to the airline for responding and honoring our request! The lesson learned is that it never hurts to ask or try (my sister is the master of getting companies to give her free stuff).

Workouts Last Week

Despite my goal to get in some more workouts, I took a lot of rest days last week thanks to a stomach flu and a bunch of homework assignments.  I’m okay with it because my life is all about balance right now, so it’s okay if workouts take a back seat to school and other stuff going on.

Monday: Body Pump
Tuesday: rest (did some planks)
Wednesday: rest
Thursday: spin class and planks
Friday: walked home from work (the bus broke down).  30 minutes of walking beats doing nothing!
Saturday: Body Pump – new release!
Sunday: rest

What’s your best customer service story?
Leave a Reply

