Run Washington Mention + Recent Eats

I got some exciting news yesterday – I’ve been quoted in a Run Washington article! One of the writers was writing an article about marathoners training through the winter, and she contacted me for a short interview because I tweeted about marathon training in March:
tweet
I did a short interview over the phone and forgot about it after seeing nothing in the next magazine.  Well, the article was just published this week, and she used my interview (just to be clear, that’s not me on the article’s front page)!picture 2
Picture1
It’s both exciting and distressing to see my words in print, lol. It’s hard to come up with well-worded answers on the spot! Here’s the link to the magazine (it’s all available online) if you want to read the whole article.

Before I move on to last week’s eats, can I just say I LOVE the stormy weather DC’s been having? I’m a storm/ bad-weather lover (aside from the kind resulting in property damage)- the worse the storm, the happier I feel and the better I sleep.  It’s inexplicable, but there it is.  Any other storm lovers out there? It’s thundering right now as I type this!
PicMonkey Food 1

Breakfast

– I baked for the first time in ages: this chocolate zucchini bread from PaleOMG, made with homemade almond butter (I didn’t have any store-bought in the house). The texture was perfect, like a moist chocolate cake, but it was a little too bitter for my taste. I’m going to cut the cocoa powder and increase the honey a little next time.
– More yogurt bowls! I’m finally almost done with the two bags of puffed millet I bought from Vitacost over a year ago, and I polished off the last of the candied nuts from sister J.

Lunch

Lunch was a big, fat mistake this week. I was intrigued by the Sur la Table recipe for Pickled Watermelon Salad on Gina’s blog, and figured I would love it because I love watermelon salad and pickled things. Well, that was true for the first day I packed the salad…and then the watermelon (batch pickled on Sunday) began to shrivel until it resembled raw meat in texture. It’s a tasty recipe, just doesn’t work with my prep-all-the-things-on-Sunday style.

Dinner

– Whatever disappointment I felt over lunch was completely demolished by this dinner! I made a batch of Melissa Joulwan’s 5-Spice Slow Cooker Pork Ribs and immediately turned them into soup by boiling them in chicken stock with ginger, bok choy and scallions, per her suggestion. Added a poached egg and served with rice – I could eat this every day for a year.
Miso-basted salmon another night – we both loved this recipe – with more corn. I’ve been buying 5-6 ears of fresh corn each week; love how cheap it is right now!

Snack

Worth a mention because I prepped a few healthy snacks last week (I get munchy when I study) – healthy fudgsicles and Martha Stewart’s chia pudding. Both good, although Mike didn’t love the “secret ingredient” in the fudgsicles and requested a “normal” version next time, lol. In all honesty, I haven’t been gobbling them down either…

Leave a Reply

