Recent Eats: Korean Food!

AM Run

I woke up a little earlier than usual this morning, determined to start getting in some AM workouts again – running in the morning gives me so much energy throughout the day, plus I don’t face the temptation of skipping a workout when I get home. I got on the treadmill to do a 5 X 800 meter speed workout, only to feel my legs turning to lead in the first 800 – so I quickly decided to switch to 400 meters instead and walk in between each interval. It wasn’t exactly what I’d planned, but I figured it was better to modify my workout then to skip it entirely! I think I’ll give the 800s another go next week outside and see if I do any better.

For today’s post, It occurred to me the other day that I haven’t posted a “Recent Eats” or other meal round-up in a while. To be honest, Mike and I have been subsisting on a lot of frozen leftovers and smoothies because we’re both taking classes now. But I went on a Korean food cooking binge this summer, and here’s what we made!

Recent Eats: Korean Style

For lunch, I ate several variations of noodles mixed with veggies and spicy sauce, with a hard-boiled egg added for protein. This was perfect for the summer with very little cooking required!
DSC03100Mandolins are the best for quickly julienning lots of veggies.DSC02840More noodles for dinner: This was a cold noodle soup (naengmyun) assembled from a package containing the noodles and soup base. Added an hb egg, julienned cucumbers, and thinly sliced watermelon for a really refreshing meal.
DSC03095Koreans often eat rice with several side dishes as a meal (you can prepare a lot of each side dish in advance, and eat over a couple of days).  I had some time one weekend, so I made spicy pickled cucumbers, sweet black beans, and egg-battered sausage.
DSC02819 DSC02820 DSC02821 I often supplement homemade side dishes with store-bought side dishes for even greater variety!DSC02822Another night, for a super-easy dinner, we mixed together chopped crab meat, avocado, and warm rice, topped with soy sauce, sriracha and red pepper flakes for some umami and spice!
DSC03091And just to round out the meals, a breakfast pic: yogurt bowls with jam and granola reigned supreme this summer! I don’t typically eat Korean food for breakfast :)
DSC03099
Check back tomorrow for a post on how to ease into Korean cooking!

What did you eat for breakfast today?

Leave a Reply

