Back into Fighting Shape

Hey friends,

Things have been slow on the blogging front lately, no thanks in part to my catching a massive cold in Iceland that doesn’t want to go away. I thought I had recovered last week and managed to get in a few good workouts, only to be walloped again this week! Hopefully, the combo of zinc, sleep and chicken matzo ball soup will knock it out for good.

DSC03823

I wanted to talk a little bit about what’s been going on the fitness front around here lately. I’ve been pretty inconsistent with my running and working out in general since well…probably my May marathon? Some of that was due to injury, some due to getting busy with schoolwork and travel, and some gets chalked up to pure laziness :) And I think that’s okay – we go through cycles in life, and this summer/ fall was about everything except working out for me. Resting felt good, and I loved being able to sleep in on the weekends and not worry about wrecking my schedule. I loved spending more time with Mike, and began to wonder whether I wanted to train for another marathon, when all that time and effort spent training felt a little selfish.

But all that rest meant that I had to cancel fall races, and when I finally showed up to a race – the Rock ‘n’ Stroll 10K – a few weeks ago, I had my first DNF (did not finish). I felt winded by mile 3, and did not have the perseverance to keep pushing through, so I dropped out and walked back. Being at the race though reminded me why I loved running so much – it teaches me that I can push through discomfort and pain to achieve a goal (when I’ve trained properly, that is). It teaches me the importance of consistency in training. It teaches me that sacrifice (waking up early, going out in the cold/ hot/ humid/ windy weather when that’s the last thing I want to do, getting off the couch) pays off.

So I’m resuming a regular workout schedule to ease back into running regularly; it looks like this:

Mon: easy run (3-4 miles)

Tue: intense cross-training (circuit training or Insanity)

Wed: easy cross-training (Zumba – I’m obsessed!)

Thr: easy run (3-4 miles) and yoga

Fri: rest

Sat: long-ish run (start building from 6 miles)

Sun: intense cross-training (circuit or Insanity)

I’m only running 3 days a week to start so that I can focus on getting strong through intense cross-training.  I find that challenging myself with a variety of exercises (circuit style) helps me get into shape faster than just running.  After a couple of weeks, I’ll replace Tuesday’s CT with an interval run, and then eventually swap out Sunday’s CT with another easy run for a total of 5 run days. The goal is to be running ~30 miles a week, 5 days a week by the end of December in preparation for another marathon season!

I probably won’t be racing till next year (except for the 5K I’m doing with Sister J in two weeks!!), and I’m totally okay with that. For now, I’m going to enjoy my runs, push myself hard in cross-training, and have fun getting back into fighting shape again.

2 thoughts on “Back into Fighting Shape

  1. Pingback: October Highlights | sneaker∙therapy

  2. Pingback: {Race Recap} 12Ks of Christmas | sneaker∙therapy

Leave a Reply

