Current Skincare Favorites

I wrote a post on Winter Skincare earlier this year, and I thought it might be interesting to publish an update to show what products I’ve held on to and new ones I’ve added. While my skincare focus in the summertime is mainly SPF, I switch to combating dryness in the wintertime – and I’m fighting acne all year long. I’m admittedly a bit of a product junkie, but maybe one or two of these recommendations will be helpful to you. Here are the products that have earned a spot in my medicine cabinet this winter!
PicMonkey

Daytime

I’m not into much makeup these days, so my morning routine takes all of 2 minutes; wash face, apply softener and BB cream. My favorite cleanser of the moment is Burt’s Bees Intense Hydration Cream Cleanser; it smells great, washes off easily and leaves my skin soft! I then apply a Shiseido softener* with a cotton pad, followed by Skin79 VIP Gold BB Cream. BB cream is a great alternative to foundation because it offers sheer coverage with some SPF and may improve complexion if used over time, but it can be a pain to rub in; it’s a pretty thick cream. To solve that problem, I mix it with a little bit of moisturizer (currently using DDF Oil Free Moisturizing Dew, but I’m not sold on the performance for the price) before applying – the mixture applies much faster and is a little more moisturizing for winter to boot!

* Tor those of you who are unfamiliar with the product, softener is an Asian product similar to toner, except that its role is to prep the skin to absorb additional products. It hydrates and balances the skin rather than stripping it of oil and dirt like toner.

Nighttime

My nighttime routine is a little more focused on acne control – I don’t have terrible acne, but I do get a few breakouts every once a while. The best product I’ve found for spot control is Mario Badescu Drying Lotion, which contains a sulfur compound as its active ingredient. FYI – it goes on and stays pink (see pic of me below), so Mike jokingly calls this my “night makeup”. Prior to the drying lotion, I’ll apply either the Mario Badescu Vitamin C Serum – I think this has brightened and improved my complexion – or Paula’s Choice 2% BHA Exfoliating Liquid and a night cream (I like Kiehl’s at the moment, but also like Shiseido creams and Clinique’s Dramatically Different Moisturizing Lotion+). The BHA Exfoliating Liquid is new to my routine; I added it in the summer for a little extra acne help and it’s helped a lot with areas of my face that tend to be chronic acne “hotspots”. It also zaps the occasional blackhead overnight!

024

Running

For days I’m running outside (and the sun is out), I’m a loyal fan of eltaMD UV Sport SPF 50 Sunscreen. It has a pretty matte application (not that it really matters – I’m going to be sweating in a few minutes anyway), and it contains physical UV blockers, which last longer than chemical blockers during exposure to sunlight.

Like I said, product junkie ;) I’m pretty minimalist when it comes to makeup though; by my way of thinking, I’d rather have nice skin and skip the makeup.

#MondayMotivation

I’m getting on the Monday Motivation bandwagon – I know lots of blogs do it, but we can all use a little extra motivation for the week, am I right? Image source
running-inspiration-i-run-to-relax1
So true – I feel positively zen after a run. My plan today is 3 miles on the hotel treadmill, a core circuit, and lots of walking around Disney!

Are you a minimalist or a product junkie like me when it comes to skincare?

What’s motivating you to work out today?

Leave a Reply

