The Year in Running

It’s the end of the year, and I’m doing Miss Zippy’s Year of Running survey again!

2014 Year of Running

Best race experience? I’m going to pick two – the Love the Run You’re With 5K in February taught me what it’s really like to push and hold race pace and I ended up with a sub-25 time, and I loved running the Veteran’s Day 5K with J and mom! It was wonderful to be able to share the sport I love with the people closest to me :)

Best run? The 20-miler I did with Capital Area Runners in March during marathon training – it felt easy and went by quickly – definitely my favorite long run of the year.

Best new piece of gear? I’m gonna go with Powerbar gels; they’re tasty and easy to eat – I can’t go back to the more viscous Gus after these.

Best piece of running advice? Ice baths. They saved my legs from major DOMS during marathon training this year.

Most inspirational runner? There’s so many – I love reading about someone’s struggles and triumphs in running, whether that person is a professional athlete or just starting out – but I’m a huge sucker for epic stories of redemption, and Meb’s victory in Boston this year was everything.

If you could sum up your year in a couple of words, what would they be? Hectic. I became a part-time student and traveled a lot more than usual (mostly short trips and weddings), and there were weeks that I wanted to fast-forward to the end of the year. Next year will be more of the same, but I think it’ll be easier because my time management skills tend to improve over time.

I can never look back without looking ahead, and I have to say that I’m excited for 2015.  I sort of fell out of love with running this summer, and was surprised and thrilled to get my running mojo back in the fall.  I also learned a lot about how to train smart for my body from a couple of long-lasting injuries this year.  I’m going into 2015 with a strong base and hoping for greater consistency and lots of great runs in the new year!

Last year’s survey: 2013 Year in Running

Leave a Reply

