Weekend Antics

Yep, I’m writing a weekend recap in the middle of the week. It’s not the first time that’s happened here, and probably won’t be the last. It’s been a productive week so far, but I just haven’t been doing much blogging. Anyway…

We celebrated my brother’s birthday on Friday! It’s probably been close to a decade since I’ve seen him on his actual bday, so it was nice to be able to take him out. Shakes and burgers at Ray’s for the win!
0116151805a
I ordered the Dogcatcher, which comes with a side of bone marrow. I wasn’t a fan of the texture, but no matter – T and Mike finished it up for me :)
0116151813
Saturday was spent driving T down to William & Mary and moving him into his dorm. It’s great that his school is just two hours away! I’m already planning to visit in Feb (and run a half while I’m there). I’m thinking about using airBnB to get a room when I go down; has anyone else tried it?

We drove home in the afternoon and rested a little before going out for some sushi at Sushi Jin! My way of thanking Mike for doing all the driving.
0117151811a
We stopped by the Korean supermarket on the way home – I’ve been on another Korean cooking binge – and I was so excited to spot these green tea KitKats (we had to first confirm that they weren’t, in fact, wasabi flavor)! Just as good as expected :)
0117151947 0117151948
I was EXHAUSTED on Sunday and ended up sleeping till 9 AM…and then taking a three hour nap shortly after lunch. Definitely the most unproductive day of the weekend, but I think my body needed it. Shabu shabu (a Japanese hot pot dish) was on the menu for dinner, and was super easy to put together – I placed a bowl on the table filled with chopped cabbage, mushrooms, bok choy, fried tofu, and udon noodles, with some thinly sliced (uncooked) beef alongside. During dinner we added all the ingredients one by one to an electric skillet full of boiling water, and fished out cooked ingredients, dipping them in a soy sauce-based sauce before eating. Delicious, healthy and so easy –I think we’ll be eating variations of this all winter.
0118151812 0118151827
I finally got my work-out mojo back on Monday (we had the day off) and made it to an early morning Body Pump class that left me sore for days! We spent the rest of the morning cleaning and cooking, including these homemade Korean dumplings – perfect for steaming, pan-frying or adding to soup for easy dinners.
0119151847
We made it to an afternoon showing of The Hobbit – I was happy we caught this in theaters, but I’ll watch any movie in an AMC theater for their reclining seats (at select theaters), their fancy soda machines, and these chicken fingers. I confess I’m weirdly addicted to their chicken fingers…
0119151505
Do you buy food at the movie theater? I used to sneak in snacks in a giant purse, but now I go for the chicken fingers every time.

Nerdy question: If you lived in Middle Earth, would you choose to be a hobbit, dwarf, elf, man, or wizard? I guess orc is also technically a choice… I’d pick hobbit. I know they don’t really have any cool abilities, but they’re very down-to-earth and least affected by temptations of evil (which is why Bilbo survived having The Ring for so long). And let’s face it, I already have the feet.

2 thoughts on “Weekend Antics

  1. My sisters used Airbnb to get rooms for Europe trips and also for their Asia trip. They loved it, and I like how their site is set up. It’s great =) I know my sisters were satisfied with their results and the lodging they got in both places!

    I’m with you on the Hobbit idea. Hobbits really have the bestest lives of any of the Middle Earth peoples =)

Leave a Reply

