{Training Update} Adjusting for Cold Weather

It’s been a few weeks since I’ve posted a training log here, and that’s no oversight; I was so unmotivated to do anything for the first half of January. I’ve loved cold weather running in the past, but this year it seems like every time I go outside, I get sick =\ I bought some echinacea tea at the supermarket this weekend and am drinking it every day to strengthen my immune system.  I think it’s working – I feel better this week! (might be a placebo effect, but I’ll take it)0124151703a

I’ve also re-jiggered my training plan to keep me indoors as much as possible for now, without going insane on the treadmill (it’s a great training tool, but there’s only so much I can take each week). My new plan is to do three runs a week – one regular run, speedwork and a long run, with only the long run outside – and do spin classes instead of the other two runs. I’ll probably keep subbing two runs with spinning until the weather warms up a little and I can run outside a little more.

Training Update (Jan 19-25)

Mon: Body Pump at gym – first time back in a while! I was walking like an old person for the next couple of days, lol.

Tue: 4 easy miles on T/M (11:00 pace – was SO sore from pump)

Wed: rest

Thur: rest

Fri: 3 X 1200 meters on T/M – intervals @ 8:12 pace, 4 min recovery in between.  This was a tough workout, because I haven’t done intervals longer than 800 meters before, so I’m looking forward to repeating it and getting stronger! Followed it up with a Fitness Blender core video.

Sat: spin class at gym and some weights at home

Sun: 9 miles outside (10:13 pace, but I stopped the watch for breaks).  It was sunny and warm, so this should have been a great run, but I tried a new route and got lost about six miles into the run where I came across a flooded section of the trail:0125151047-EFFECTSApparently this connector between the northern and southern sections of the Holmes Run path floods frequently – good to know for future runs! Thankfully, I had my phone with me so I was able to map my way back home.

Overall, a good week of training.  I should have gotten another spin class in, but I was way too sore from pump.  I know from experience that the first class back is always the worst, so I think I’ll recover more quickly this week.  My first half marathon of the year is in less than 4 weeks, and I know all the work I put in now will pay off during the race!

Is anyone else getting sick more frequently this year? I feel like I’m only just now recovering from a cold I got a few weeks ago…

Leave a Reply

