{Training Update} Weeks 11+12

I’m a little behind on posting my training logs (I’m currently in Week 14), but I don’t want to post more than two at a time, so here are my Week 11 and 12 training logs.  I’ve been more consistent with my workouts, and am seeing some improvement during my workout-type runs, especially pace runs! Hopefully I start seeing those results in races soon :)

In other good news, my knee hasn’t bothered me at all this past month or so.  I’m continuing to do my PT exercises 3-4 times a week and focusing on squats/ lunges to strengthen the knee, but I’m hopeful that it won’t bother me anymore this training cycle! Praise God.

Week 11: Mar 9-15

Screen Shot 2015-04-02 at 8.57.08 PM
Mon: yoga video (I think I did Adriene’s Yoga for Your Butt and Thighs)

Tue: 6 easy miles on the T/M (10:50 pace)

Wed: rest day!

Thur: Planned workout: 4 X 1200 meter repeats. I attempted this workout outside after work, and managed one interval @ 5:47. After failing to complete a second several times, I did one more full interval @ 6:06 and then called it quits. I know that if a speed session is THAT hard from the beginning, it’s better to rest and try again later, rather than push through with poor form.

Fri: 6 easy miles on the T/M (10:10 pace) + some weights

Sat: 4 Courts 4 Miler (9:48 pace) – not my best race…looking back, I think I should have taken the two days prior a little easier?

Sun: I planned to run a long run, but my legs were toast from the race. Rest day.

Week 12: Mar 16-22

Screen Shot 2015-04-02 at 8.57.05 PM

Mon: yoga video (Morning Yoga with Adriene!)

Tue: 4 X 1200 meter repeats – I decided to try this workout again on the treadmill, and this time was a success! I really like the treadmill for speedwork sessions because it teaches me to feel the faster pace consistently. 1200 meter time averaged about 5:57 (8:00ish pace), 1 mile w/u and c/d. Also did some weights afterwards.

Wed: 5 easy on the T/M (11:17 pace)

Thur: 6 race-pace miles outside – paces {8:44, 8:34, 8:41, 8:26, 8:34, 8:44}, averaged 8:37. I was surprised at how strong I felt, given the slightly windy conditions! The faster miles were definitely when the wind was behind me, and the slower ones when I was running into the wind, but I still kept up with my goal pace (8:47) each mile.  Short weight routine at home afterwards.

Fri: Well-deserved rest day!

Sat: 12 miles outside (9:56 pace) – This was a pretty hilly route for a long run, and I had to stop the Garmin several times to stretch my calves and massage my arches – not sure what was going on with my feet that day. Not my best run, but I was glad I got it done.

Sun: Rest day

My goal for the next couple of weeks is to take my runs outside more to get used to different weather conditions, and to continue to push through tough workouts, even on tired legs.  I’m hoping I see the pay-off of all this hard work at the Columbia Half in a couple of weeks!

2 thoughts on “{Training Update} Weeks 11+12

  1. Pingback: {Training Update} Weeks 13+14 | sneaker∙therapy

Leave a Reply

