A Taste of Summer

I can’t believe that it’s Wednesday already. I’ve been riding the strugglebus this week because my insomnia is back with a vengeance – last night was the first night in several days that I fell asleep before 1 (we’re usually in bed by 10 and up by 5 or 6). I think it’s a combination of allergies and warmer weather/ longer daylight affecting my circadian rhythm that’s making it harder to fall asleep =\ But I’ve been trying out white noise videos on YouTube this week, and I think they’re helping. Fingers crossed I sleep even better tonight! Does anyone else have a harder time falling asleep in the spring/ summer?

I’ll take the insomnia to keep the weather we had this weekend though – Friday’s rain (see the rainbow!) cleared up by Saturday and the rest of the weekend felt like summertime.

0417151833a

I got in a hard pace run on Friday after work, and took a rest day on Saturday because my whole body felt tired. It was my friend Vivian’s birthday, so I took her out to Mint Nail Lounge in the trendy Mosaic District to get manis together!

0419150834

Neither of us had been here before, but I picked it because it had great reviews and I liked all the aromatherapy options they had available. We got the orange peel manicure, which came with a full arm scrub, lotion massage, and something else – all wonderfully scented and relaxing. I liked this place a lot – it was clean, bright, and they had a great selection of polishes to choose from; I’ll take more pictures when we go back for pedis in a few weeks :)

I was too hungry to wait for dinner when we got back, so Mike and I went to our new favorite hangout – Lyon Hall in Clarendon – to eat happy hour mussels and bread before Vivian’s bday dinner in Rosslyn. It was a really relaxing evening catching up with old friends and meeting some new ones – now that the winter is over, I think we’re all feeling more social again and we made many plans to hang out!

I mentioned the beautiful weather, right? It was 80 degrees on Saturday, so I decided it was time to pull out the summer clothes and put the warmer layers away. Bright colors make me happy.

0418151027

I intended to go out first thing on Sunday for a long run, but after the festivities Saturday night, I didn’t wake up till much later. I ended up putzing about the house for most of the day, and finally did 12 miles on a treadmill in the afternoon while watching a few episodes of Resurrection on Hulu. I’m oddly obsessed and have a feeling the ending/ solution to the mystery is going to be really lame…

Summer weather also puts me in the mood for banh mi, so we picked up a few sandwiches and egg rolls (the beessttt) from the creatively-named Banh Mi D.C. for lunch. Soo good – I have a feeling we’ll be eating a lot of these this summer.

0419151248a

It’s been colder and rainier since the weekend, but I think summer is right around the corner!

Leave a Reply

