The Race I Didn’t Run

I owe you guys a race recap from the Columbia Half this weekend, and it’s going to be short and sweet – it didn’t happen (for me – the race still went on).   And I’m okay with that.

The long and the short of it is that my legs and body were feeling terrible all of last week. I was a crazy insomniac and didn’t fall asleep till 3 or 4 every night. And for some reason, my legs were so sore that I dialed back my mileage (I think I only ran twice the whole week) and foam rolled a ton. But somehow, the soreness got worse to the point that it compounded my sleeping problem, and Saturday night I was nearly in tears because of the burning pain.

Sunday morning (race day), my legs were still pretty sore, but I got dressed and headed down to the car. But before I started the engine, I sat and pondered for a good ten minutes whether I really wanted to waste 4 hours of my weekend (including driving time) to run a sub-par, painful race. I knew that a PR wasn’t in the cards that day, and I had a feeling that I would be miserable from the start. Don’t get me wrong; I believe that there’s tremendous value in pushing through adversity, but running 13.1 miles with terrible leg pain sounded like injury territory at worst and a stupid way to spend my time at best. Plus, I was so sleep-deprived that I wondered whether I should be on the road at all.

So I went back upstairs, got undressed and got back into bed :D

Some pics from the rest of the weekend:

Tried a new Thai place Friday night – Thai Square! The Washington Post restaurant critic raves about it all the time, so we decided to give it a shot. The crispy fish (pictured below) was unfortunately really dry, but the honey roasted duck with basil and lad na (noodles in gravy) were bomb.

0424151928

I feel a little embarrassed posting this on the blog, but we played D&D for the first time with Mike’s coworkers on Saturday! Yes, it was super geeky, but I also had an awesome time :D

0425151654

Birthday starbucks drink that the barista kindly let me use 3 weeks past my birthday (apparently you’re supposed to use it within a week…). Green tea latte with soy was the order of the day.  #lipstickstain #keepingitclassy

0425150932

Workout Changes This Week

My legs are feeling much better this week; I took Monday off, did a modified speed workout on Tuesday, and hit up BodyPump yesterday – I’m sore today, but a good kind of sore. I’m wondering if the long training cycle was starting to take a toll on my body, so I’m dialing back the intensity of my runs, adding in cross-training and taking rest days whenever I feel I need it. At this point, I think I’m well prepared for my next half (Wine Country at the end of May), so I just want to maintain fitness and not get injured.

Plan for the (rest of the) week:

Mon – off

Tue – modified 4 X 1200 meter repeats (I did two full 1200s, and the other two I completed as 3 X 400s, if that makes any sense)

Wed – Body Pump

Thurs – 4 miles or off

Fri – 6-7 miles @ pace

Sat – 10 miles, easy pace

Sun – 4 miles or yoga

Any time my legs start to feel that painful again, I’m going to reduce the intensity of the workout, swap in yoga, or take a complete rest day as needed. I love running, but at the end of the day, this is still just a hobby and my overall health/ well-being takes priority over running fitness.

Leave a Reply

