Friday Faves + I Got Over a Food Aversion

Woohoo! It’s Friday :D It’s been a long week because along with the usual work stuff I’ve been cramming for the end of the semester (oh hi, final project I never thought about) but all my assignments are done now and all I have left to do is study for the final next Wednesday. And now that the weather is so gorgeous (it feels like we went straight from winter to early summer this year), everyone is coming out of hibernation and we’ve got some fun stuff on the calendar this weekend! We’re gonna see the Avengers with Mike’s coworkers Jess and Justin tomorrow (at my favorite theater), and then Sushi Jin with college friends for dinner. I’d better get in my long run tomorrow morning to balance out all that eating…

Friday Faves

Running outside again! You know how I said I was going to try to transition back to outdoor running several weeks ago? Yea, that didn’t happen – probably because temps were still often in the 20s and 30s in the mornings and I’m a total wuss this year. But this week has been a different story – all my runs have been outside! After a winter on the treadmill, I was starting to think that maybe I preferred the treadmill and was seriously contemplating becoming an indoor-only runner (if such a category exists). HAHA nope – I did 7 miles outside this morning and was on cloud 9 for hours afterwards. I wasn’t fast (I definitely keep pace better on the treadmill) and the slight wind and varying inclines were definitely more challenging than the flat surface of the t/m, but I felt so alive the whole time and grateful to be running. Can you tell I still have a runner’s high? Lol. I’ve also had a hard time finding a comfortable running shoe lately, so I ordered several to test and I loved the one I ran with this morning. More to follow…
0428151308
Castelvetrano olives. Mike and I both love olives so we often get a containerful from supermarket olive bars to snack on. I grabbed some of these light green ones from Whole Foods a couple of weeks ago thinking they were just regular green olives, but realized they were something completely different when we tried them. These olives are creamy and buttery, with very little tang to them, unlike regular green olives (which I find really sour). We’ve been filling big containers with them from WF whenever we’re near one since we can’t find them anywhere else. Another reason to add Italy to the travel bucket list.
0405151201
This hairdryer (Babyliss Pro TT I think?) – on our Boston trip, our Airbnb hostess lent me this hairdryer for use and I was blown away (pun intended) at how quickly it dried my hair and how easy it was to style the ends. I’ve been trying to style my hair more often (read: less ponytails at work) and I didn’t know what a difference a good hairdryer makes! I’m swapping out my super-cheap one for the Babyliss for sure.
0411151714a
On another hair-related note, I finally found a workout headband that keeps my long bangs out of my face and doesn’t fall off my head – the UA Perfect Headband. It has two rubber strips that go all the way around to keep it in place, and the band stretches pretty wide to keep fly-aways away from my face. It’s not really cute, but it gets the job done! I wear this for every workout and wash it with hand soap between wears.
0419151638
And finally– cottage cheese! I know this is an odd one, but I’ve had a strong aversion to cottage cheese for ten years – I ate it when I had the flu and got sick right afterwards.  I’ve tried it every couple of years to see if I’ve gotten over it, and nope, couldn’t eat the stuff – until a few weeks ago when I bought a tub for a recipe and found I was able to eat it! I’ve been enjoying it with fresh pineapple for breakfast and snacks.
0428150835
Have you ever gotten over a food aversion? How long did it take you?
Any fun plans this weekend? Do share!

4 thoughts on “Friday Faves + I Got Over a Food Aversion

  1. Alexa

    I have a similar story with avocados. When I was young and tried it, I didn’t see what all the hype was about. Since they’re pretty expensive, I never bought them and if my parents had them at home, I’d have a bit, still not be excited, and let the rest of my family eat my share because they loved it. Then I was doing an internship in college and there was a deli nearby that didn’t charge extra for avocados! So I started getting it in my salads because it was included and now I love them! The fact that my tastes changed with respect to avocados is the reason I still make myself eat mushrooms. Maybe one day I’ll like them…

  2. Pingback: Friday Faves – A New Food Obsession – sneaker therapy

Leave a Reply

