HMM: Week #3

It’s a little late in the week for a workout recap, but so it goes! I came back from a fun-filled weekend in Charleston with my college friends, so I’ve been busy trying to catching up on sleep :) Short recap of our trip coming soon!
20150809_155345

Hanson’s Marathon Method: Week 3

Screen Shot 2015-07-19 at 8.32.38 PMWeek 3 went fine – I went from 4 days to 5 days running, and had no issues with the increased mileage. I even managed to run every day on vacation! My paces slowed from previous weeks, but my easy run pace is still well within my desired pace range (for easy days).

Mon: core video (this one here – it was insane)

Tue: 5 hilly miles outside (10:28 pace) – I picked a hilly route near my house and managed to run the big hill on the route without stopping for the first time :)

Wed: core video at home

Thurs: 3 easy miles on the T/M (10:24 pace) and weights at the gym – squats, lunges, bicep curls and a few other exercises

Fri: 5 easy miles outside (10:03 pace) and core workout

Sat: 5 easy miles outside in Charleston (10:36 pace)

Sun: 3 easy miles outside (ran without watch)

I’m currently in the middle of week 4, which is going fine – but I’m not gonna lie, I’m pretty nervous for next week (week 5).  It’s a big jump in mileage (~60%), and it’s the first week with planned workouts – speedwork on Tuesday and a 5 mile tempo on Thursday.  I plan to keep the easy days really easy and aim to hit the slower paces for my workout days.  I definitely won’t be racing on Sunday given all the changes from week 4 to 5, so I’ll just do the 5 miles that were previously prescribed, and I might even do those miles in the pool.  I still have 13 weeks to go, so my #1 rule is to stay healthy and uninjured!

One thought on “HMM: Week #3

Leave a Reply

