Hanson’s Marathon Method: Week #5

This weekend was almost a repeat of last weekend; I went kayaking with a co-worker on Friday, and grabbed more cup-pies from Pie Sisters to bring to dinner at a friend’s house on Saturday.  I did the usual running and eating; highlight of the weekend was this Fig and Pig pizza from Pupatella – seasonal white pizza with figs, prosciutto, brie, and balsamic glaze. Fuel for the long run!0823151250
I also spent a lot of time napping on Sat and Sun (really unusual for me) because I think I’m coming down with a cold :( Can’t have that during marathon training, so I’m stocked up on zinc and echinacea tea…

Hanson’s Marathon Method: Week 5

Screen Shot 2015-07-19 at 8.32.38 PM
Well, I survived the mileage jump last week! I ran nearly 37 miles – my first 30+ week of the YEAR.  My legs are sore for sure, but thankfully, my body feels strong and healthy.  I’ve been rolling out my shins and calves daily with The Stick and stretching my feet regularly to prevent old injuries from flaring up.  Ignore what it says for week #5 on the graphic, BTW – I originally added in a race and decided to take it out, so my runs below are a little different from what’s written above.

Mon: 4 easy miles outside on a hilly course (10:19 pace), short core workout indoors.

Tue: 12 X 400 meters (with 400 m recovery in between) on the T/M. This was my first speed workout of the training cycle, and going in I wasn’t sure I’d be able to complete all 12 intervals, but I just kept focusing on completing each ~ 2 min interval without thinking about the next one, and somehow that got me to the end. 1 mile warmup, intervals averaging 1:59 (7:56 pace), and 1 mile cooldown for a total of 7.75 miles.

Wed: Rest day

Thr: 4 tempo miles (8:46 pace) on T/M at 1.0 incline, 1 mile warm-up. This workout was supposed to be a 5 mile tempo, but I felt exhausted and ill and stopped to walk at 4 miles and couldn’t start back up. Considering this was my first tempo of the training cycle, I think it’s fine I only completed 4 miles – I have two more 5 mile tempos in the schedule so I’ll just try again this week.

Fri: 8 easy miles outside (10:14 pace) – probably my best run of the week. My legs felt strong and it felt awesome to be outside.

Sat: 4 easy miles on T/M (10:29 pace) – I was supposed to run 8 miles back-to-back, but I had a bad head cold and opted to swap Saturday and Sunday’s runs.

Sun: 8 miles on T/M (10:30 pace) – I felt terrible when I woke up on Sunday, but felt a lot better after a 2 hour nap in the morning. I fueled up with pizza for lunch, and got on the treadmill to finish my last run of the week. Two episodes of Heroes (I’m re-watching the series) got me through the run :)

My goal this week is to nail the 5 mile tempo and to start increasing my pace on the long runs (my target long run pace is closer to 9:46, so I’m going to need to push a little harder!).

Leave a Reply

