Hanson’s Marathon Method: Week #6

So, I know I’ve had a bad week of training when I keep wanting to put off blogging about it. In short, my weekend looked like this:0830151107a After fighting a cold all week, my body just succumbed this past weekend and I did little else besides napping and watching Netflix. Unfortunately, I skipped Saturday and Sunday’s runs, which meant I didn’t get in a long run.  I briefly toyed with the idea of getting in 10 miles on Sunday afternoon, but I had a terrible headache, still felt awful and in general lacked motivation.  As disappointed as I was with my weekend, I still got in some great runs during the week.  Here’s how the rest of the week went:

Hanson’s Marathon Method: Week 6

Screen Shot 2015-07-19 at 8.32.38 PMMon: 4 easy paced miles on the T/M (10:18 pace) with some hillwork thrown in for variety.  Followed by core work at home

Tue: 8 X 600 meter repeats on the T/M (avg 2:55 for the intervals) with 400 meter recovery in between.  1 mile warm-up and 1 mile cool-down for 6.75 miles total, and weights downstairs afterwards => this was my favorite workout of the week! I still love speedwork days.

Wed: Rest day

Thr: 5 tempo miles on the T/M (8:45 pace) with 1 mile warm-up and cool-down.  I was so happy with this run because I couldn’t finish my 5 mile tempo the week before.  The tempo pace felt uncomfortable after a mile or two, but definitely manageable the whole time.  Weights downstairs afterwards.

Fri: 6 easy miles on the T/M (10:29 pace) with seven 30-sec strides at the end (I just turn up the speed to ~8.0 or higher and try to hang on).

Sat: sick – skipped planned 10 miler :( 

Sun: sick – skipped planned 4 miler

This week’s training wasn’t ideal but looking back, I think if I had to skip a long run, this week was a good one to skip.  It isn’t that long in mileage, I have another opportunity to run 10 this weekend, and it’s still early in the training cycle.  I still have 11 solid weeks of training and I’m going to make the most of them!

Leave a Reply

