{Workout Log} Week of Cross-Training

Hope those of you from DC to New York survived Winter Storm Jonas! We got quite a bit of snow, so we took full advantage and went out on Sunday to make snowballs and snow angels.0124160955

I think I mentioned earlier that I injured my hamstring, so I haven’t been running.  But I’ve managed to stay active with spinning, yoga and other low-impact cross-training activities that don’t bother my hamstring.  Here’s what I’ve been up to the past week:

Mon: light yoga

Tue: rest day – had insomnia the night before =\

Wed: yoga – this hamstring-focused class from Adriene! I love the variety of videos she’s posted online – and they’re all free!

Thurs: cycling workout + TRX exercises (upper body only)

Fri: snow day! Mike and I went to an awesome sweaty spin class at the gym – I loved the instructor’s playlist so much that I went up to her afterwards and took a picture of the songs to download them for myself.

Sat: 1 mile on the treadmill, 40 min stairclimber and TRX exercises/ weights.  My hamstring was feeling a lot better (it’s been about 4 weeks since I injured it), so I tried a short jog on the treadmill.  I made it a mile, but my form was clearly suffering towards the end, so I switched to the stairclimber instead.

Sun: 40 min elliptical + yoga at home

The highlight of my week was completing 3 sets of 10 bench presses with the bar on Saturday.  It’s been a long time since I hit the weights, but the gym was so empty on Saturday that I decided to see if I could still lift the bar.  Before I started running, I dedicated myself to weight lifting and had to work my way up to a full set of 10 bench presses, much less 3 sets – and I haven’t touched heavy weights in several years since.  But it looks like my time with the TRX over the last couple of months has gotten me pretty strong again, because the bar didn’t feel too heavy at all! That said, I was pretty darn sore the next day, lol.

Leave a Reply

