{Workout Log} May 30-June 5, 24 Miles

I’ve skipped over re-capping the last two weeks of training because yet again, I barely ran.  I’ve been getting used to my medication and still getting over my acute insomnia.  After a 0 mile week, I ran 11 miles two weeks ago, and built back up to 24 miles last week!
Capture
Mon: Fitness Blender 30 min HIIT kickboxing video in hotel, followed by some planks.  This was a great workout! I was sore for days afterwards.

Tue: 3 easy miles on the treadmill (10:47 pace).  I added in some 15 second strides at the end – great way to get in a little speed on an easy run day.  In the afternoon, I went to my first Pure Barre class! So fun and SO hard – my legs were shaking in minutes.  I think barre is a great supplement to running because it’s not a heavy weight load, but it really works all parts of the core and legs (and some arms!).

Wed: rest day

Thurs: 6 X 400 meters on the treadmill (400 meter recoveries, 5 miles total with warm up and cool down).  I’ve struggled during my speed workouts lately, so I tried slowing the pace way down – from 7.2 down to 6.8.  That really did the trick – the intervals felt hard but doable, and I was able to jog during the recoveries (instead of just stopping or walking, lol).  I’ll eventually work up to my usual pace! I did this quick 7 min strength for runners video afterwards.

Fri: 4 miles on treadmill (10:55 pace) – legs were so sore, but I got it done.  Followed by more planks!

Sat: 6 miles outside with Pacers (11:07 pace)

Sun: 6 miles outside (10:49 pace) and planks

Hyperthyroidism Update

A quick update – my anti-thyroid medication (Methimazole) was working great and I was sleeping better for the first week after I started taking it, but shortly after, my symptoms came back (constant alertness, insomnia, excessive sweating), so I started doubling my dose, which is what my doctor wanted to start with anyway.  And sure enough, the symptoms went away again.  I’m sleeping much better without any medication, not sweating so much, and feeling more relaxed.

I’ve also definitely gained weight since this all started (about 10 lbs) – hyperthyroidism revvs your metabolism, so you’re hungry very frequently – so I bought some new clothes after realizing my clothes didn’t fit anymore.  I know that I’ll lose the weight eventually as my appetite evens out and my mileage increases, but I also know that it will take some time and it’s more important to be comfortable in your clothes than squeeze yourself into a certain size ;)

 

Leave a Reply

