Summer Book Roundup #1

I’m bringing you my first book round-up of the year! These are some of the books I’ve read in recent months that you might enjoy.

book collage

Cormoran Strike series by Robert Galbraith (aka J.K. Rowling)
I’ve been on a big detective/mystery kick lately and really liked the first three books of this mystery series (Cuckoo’s Calling, The Silkworm, and Career of Evil). It’s set in current-day Britain, and the main character is a private detective who lost a leg in the war and is struggling to pay the rent until he gets looped into his first big case. The intelligent and attractive Robin Ellacott accepts a job as his secretary and ends up staying despite the low pay because she loves the work. It’s fun to follow their adventures together, and the cases are gruesome and engrossing.

Still Alice by Lisa Genova
Oh my goodness, this book. I didn’t realize it wasn’t a true story until I looked it up afterwards, but it’s so well-written and the main character feels so real. It’s about a Harvard professor and linguistics expert that develops early-onset Alzheimer’s, and I couldn’t stop thinking about the choices she made and interesting coping mechanisms she developed and what I would do in her situation. I couldn’t stop talking about it with Mike at bedtime, which is always the sign of an interesting book :)

Why Not Me? by Mindy Kaling
Do you love The Mindy Project? Go read this book. It’s self-deprecating, light-hearted and funny – everything a comedienne’s memoir should be.

The Nightingale by Kristin Hannah
I know everyone loved this book, but it wasn’t for me. I think it’s just that I’m not that into historical fiction =\ Read it anyway!

The Love Song of Miss Queenie Hennessy by Rachel Joyce
This is a beautiful follow-on to The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry, Joyce’s debut novel.  If you love stories about ordinary people doing extraordinary things or coping with difficult circumstances, read these.

Who Do You Love by Jennifer Weiner
I’m pretty partial to well-written and fun chick-lit with good character development, so basically anything by Jennifer Weiner or Sophia Kinsella, so I knew I would read this book when it came out. It’s a love story of two very different people that meet each other again and again at different stages of their lives – not my favorite of Weiner’s books, but entertaining and worth the read.

Packing for Mars by Mary Roach
Mary Roach is a popular science writer that latches onto fascinating and weird topics – her other books have included Stiff (the various adventures of donated cadavers) and Gulp (strange anecdotes and studies about eating and digestion). This book is about the interesting challenges that the space program has had to overcome and weird stories from space. Highly recommend if you like popular science or want to learn some interesting facts!

N or M? by Agatha Christie
Like I said, I love mysteries so I’ve read nearly all of AC’s books. I discovered her Tommy and Tuppence series last year, which follows the spying and detective adventures of, well, Tommy and Tuppence. The two main characters are so plucky and resourceful that you can’t help but root for them.

The Martian by Andy Weir
You’ve all seen the movie, right? Right?? I loved the movie (starring Matt Damon), which centers around astronaut Mark Watney, who is accidentally stranded on Mars and needs to invent creative ways to survive until he is rescued. The book is more of the same, and I really enjoyed reading the geeky descriptions of his MacGyver-solutions to surviving on a hostile planet and getting to know the likeable Mark Watney a little better.

Currently on my Kindle – Olive Kitteridge by Elizabeth Strout, Pretty Girls by Karen Slaughter, Running with the Kenyans by Adharanand Finn, and Sidetracked (Kurt Wallander series, book 4).

What are you reading lately/have you read recently?

One thought on “Summer Book Roundup #1

  1. Pingback: Summer Book Roundup #2 – sneaker therapy

Leave a Reply

