{Workout Log} July 4-10, 28 miles

Hi friends! Writing to you after a low-key weekend here. It was so hot that we only ventured outside to food shop, go to the movies and church :)

IMG_20160708_172206
My mint plant has been growing with such enthusiasm that I snipped a few stalks to make #mintjuleps on Friday night
0709161113_HDR
Kind and Kashi bars for work/hiking snacks and a big bottle of lemon verbena cleaner concentrate from a Target trip after my long run!
0709161212_HDR
I’m convinced the perfect recovery activity after a long run is an afternoon at the movies. We went right around lunchtime so I got a hot dog, Mike got chicken fingers, and popcorn to share. Along with the water bottle and chips in my purse because #asian haha

Last Week’s Workouts

Mon: ~2 miles (aborted Freedom 5K) – I drove up to Fairfax on Monday morning for my first race of the year, but as excited as I was, I realized very quickly that my legs were lead after all the activities of the weekend (hiking, long run, lots of walking).  My first mile was pretty speedy at 8:46, but my legs realllly slowed down and I ran about another half mile at an 10:00+ pace.  That’s when I decided it just wasn’t worth it for me to push through, so I called it quits and walked/jogged back to the car.  I’ll be smarter about resting my legs before my next race.

Tue: Lavabarre (review coming soon)! We did tons of core work in this class and I was sore that evening and all the next day.

Wed: 3 mile tempo run (9:02 pace) – My goal was to run 3 miles at my desired marathon race pace (~9:10), but as soon as I stepped outside and felt the humidity and heat – 76 degrees at 5:45 AM! – I knew it was going to be a challenge.  I did a 1 mile warm-up, then settled into my tempo, aiming for a hard but comfortable pace.  I only looked at my watch when I was close to finishing the first mile, and was shocked to see a sub-9 pace, given the weather conditions.  I kept pushing through, stopping to drink water in the 2nd mile, and slowed my pace to ensure I would have something in mile 3.  Mile 3 was tough and I stopped a bunch of times to slow my heart rate down, but I got it done.  Paces – 8:50, 9:06, 9:10.  1 mile cooldown afterwards and planks in the evening.

Thurs: 6 miles easy on T/M (9:58 pace) – I tried this run outside in the morning and the humidity just about destroyed me, so I decided to try it again in the afternoon after work on the treadmill.  I had just a little over an hour to workout and shower when I got home because we had small group, so I jumped on the treadmill downstairs and kept my pace on the “faster easy” side. TV wasn’t working, so I turned on the dance playlist on Spotify and did 2 miles easy (5.4-6.0 pace), 2 miles with small hills (30 sec-1 min incline of 1 to 3, followed by at least 1 min recovery), and 2 miles with short burst of speed (30 sec-1 min increase to 6.2-6.8, followed by at least 1 min recovery). Not the most interesting run of the week, but I got them done :)

Fri: Rest day! I did this easy yoga video and a short core workout.

Sat: 10 miles w/ Pacers (11:30 pace) – this was a HOT and humid run, and I almost didn’t show up, knowing how hot it would be – but I told myself that learning to run in tough conditions would make me that much stronger.  It wasn’t too bad when we started (some shade, mid-70s), but the temps quickly climbed into the 80s and I was really struggling in the sun, especially in the 2nd half of the run.  My running buddy was out, so I focused on my running form and took a short water break every mile or half mile.  I filled my pack with ice and water with some Gatorade (for electrolytes and calories), and took a gu at the halfway point, and given the conditions, I actually felt this run went pretty well.  I know that slow pace in the heat will translate to speedy miles in the fall! Short core workout in the afternoon.

0709160635_HDR
This pack was empty by the end of the run

Sun: 5 miles easy (10:05 pace) – Nice and cool weather for this run, not too bad!

How are you dealing with the heat where you live?

2 thoughts on “{Workout Log} July 4-10, 28 miles

  1. Sister J

    love the round up! the mint julep looks GREAT, and lemon verbena is my favorite mrs meyers scent because of you :). also, now i’m really inspired to treat myself at the movies – what did you watch? x

    1. Thanks J! Haha, I spent a good 10 min at Target after my run, sniffing every scent (I must have looked a little crazy and dehydrated) – still like lemon verbena the best. We watched Mike and Dave Need Wedding Dates, which was just okay – lots of dumb humor IMO. Sat afternoon at the movies are quickly becoming one of our favorite activities – the reclining seats are key!!

Leave a Reply

