Friday Faves (7/15/16)

Hi friends! TGIF to you all – it’s hot, humid and I’m ready for a weekend filled with running and cold watermelon. Before I check out, I’m sharing some of my favorite fitness/food/other finds around here lately that you might like too!

Kind Nuts & Spices bars
I’ve always been a big fan of Kind bars but only recently discovered their Nuts & Spices line, which includes flavors like Caramel Almond and Sea Salt, Cashew and Ginger Spice, Dark Chocolate Almond Mint, and Black Truffle Almond Sea Salt. After getting a little burnt out on the sweetness of Larabars, I was intrigued by the low sugar content (all bars have 5 grams of sugar or less), high protein and interesting flavor profiles, so I picked up a variety pack and bought other flavors when I saw them at CVS and other stores. Here are the ones I tried and liked:
Dark Chocolate Almond Mint (pictured below) – mint is pretty subtle but adds a refreshing note against the chocolate
Maple Glazed Pecan and Sea Salt – maple+pecan = fall to me, this was such a tasty bar
Caramel Almond and Sea Salt – another great one, and it doesn’t get as messy as the bars containing chocolate in the summertime
Dark Chocolate Nuts and Sea Salt – tastes like a crunchy dessert, can’t go wrong with this one
Black Truffle Almond with Sea Salt – the truffle oil and sea salt are a really interesting blend against the sweetness of the honey and other sweet ingredients – a true salty/sweet bar

0531161403_HDR
Enjoyed in the car after a hiking trip!

0610160740_HDR
I’ve liked all of the ones I’ve tried, with the exception of the dark chocolate cinnamon pecan above, but I’m not a fan of cinnamon combined with chocolate in general. It might have been better as a peanut butter/honey/cinnamon? Take it back to the Kind labs!

Athleta Chi tanks
After years of searching, I have finally found my perfect workout tank top – the Chi tank from Athleta. The fabric is soft and comfortable, the high-low hem is really figure-flattering, and the fit is perfect – loose enough not to cling to my sides/stomach, but doesn’t slide down towards my head during downward dog.  I wear them for running, barre, yoga, lifting weights – everything.
1130152010aIt’s easy to tell when I like a piece of clothing because I go out and buy it in all the colors, and true to form, I own six of these already! Pro tip: to save money, I buy them off Ebay in new or used in good condition or on sale at Athleta.  It helps to buy one from the company first to determine your size, and Athleta offers free shipping on returns/exchanges in case you don’t get it right the first time.0709162110_HDR
Burts Bees Hibiscus tinted lip balm
Another Birchbox win! I didn’t think much of this lip balm when I opened it up, but have found myself reaching for it nearly every morning. It has great color payoff for a lip balm, looks really natural, but feels really light and moisturizing – perfect for summer!

Paprika Recipe App
I’ve been using Evernote for the last couple of years to store random notes, shopping/packing lists and recipes, but when I found out that they were going to change their business model and I would have to pay a yearly fee, I decided to hunt around to see what other recipe managers out there. Evernote has a lot of awesome features, but the web clipper isn’t great for recipes; it just pulls in the entire webpage, which could include ads, lots of blog text, comments, etc.

A quick search led me to Paprika, and after trying the trial version, I forked over $25 for the desktop version and app – the first is better to clip lots of recipes and do the heavy lifting of tagging and sorting, and I use the latter while cooking.paprika1The recipe clipper works so seamlessly – it pulls in the ingredients and directions from any type of recipe page, whether its a recipe site or blog post and leaves out the extraneous text.
paprika2
There are a lot of other great features, like weekly meal planning (just pull the recipe onto the day you want) and grocery list builder – I can tell I’m going to be using this app for a long time.
Cats of Instagram
Whenever I’m having a bad day or just need a reason to smile (or squeal), I go to the Cats of Instagram feed for gems like the picture below.  The cuteness…I can’t even.  Why won’t our cats wear costumes!??
Screen Shot 2016-07-11 at 7.54.00 PM
And with that, I leave you to your weekend! Mine starts this afternoon after work with a paddleboarding session with a friend :)

Leave a Reply

