Paleo Meal Roundup #2

We’ve continued to follow a semi-paleo diet – about 50% paleo on weekends and 80% paleo on weekdays – it seems to help with alleviating some potential symptoms of my anti-thyroid medication (weight gain, low energy levels), and I feel pretty great eating this way. But I think the recipes below would appeal to both paleo and non-paleo eaters alike! Here’s the link to the first round-up, if you missed it!

Breakfast

Plantain no-grain cupcake – this is such a simple recipe – I often make it the day before a long run and eat it for breakfast.  I usually add maple syrup, cinnamon and vanilla extract for additional flavor.  It’s not particularly cupcake-like in my opinion; more like a soft bread, but still healthy and delicious!

Almost 5 ingredient spaghetti pizza pie – I don’t know why it took me this long to try this massively popular PaleOMG recipe – it’s SO GOOD. Want pizza for breakfast? Eat this.  It’s healthy and low-carb thanks to the spaghetti squash! It’s not just a breakfast dish either – I’m sure this would be equally good at any time of the day.0704161556e_HDR

Lunch/Dinner

Smashed steak skewers with cherry BBQ sauce – This is a winner from NomNomPaleo – made easier with pitted frozen cherries! I made it once before, but made the mistake of using cubed steak this time around, haha.  The sauce was still delicious though.

Stuffed cabbage rolls – Mike and I both LOVED this dish – I used cauliflower rice to keep it low-carb/ paleo, and my non-paleo husband still liked it! Can’t wait to think of variations on the stuffing.0704161640a_HDR
BBQ meatballs and cauliflower mash – I cheated and used bottled BBQ sauce for the meatballs, but the cauliflower mash was the real winner here! Steaming the cauli is key to ensuring a smooth puree. I love the creative use of vegetables in paleo recipes :)0720161812a_HDR

Faux pho – This is a super-easy dish, thanks to the use of the slow cooker to roast the 5-spice ribs first.  I thought a whole rack of ribs would last us a while, but Mike inhaled big bowls of this, so it was only about 3 dinners worth, haha.  Can’t wait to make this again in the winter!0718161852_HDR

Gluten-free Honorable Mentions

Cucumber soba – I love cold soba noodles with dipping sauce (a Japanese dish) – so perfect for summer – and tried subbing spiralized cucumber noodles for some of the traditional buckwheat noodle.  It’s really good! The cucumbers are so refreshing with the salty soba sauce.  Not quite paleo (soba sauce contains soy), but a great no grain option!0622161834_HDR
Vietnamese summer rolls – this is another great no-grain/gluten-free option thanks to the rice paper wraps. We made ours with shrimp, carrots, lettuce, jalapenos, mint, basil, and hoisin sauce. Another great summer meal requiring minimal cooking.0711161903a_HDR

Leave a Reply

