Hanson’s Richmond Week 4 (33 miles)

Hey friends, hope you had a great weekend! Mike came down with another cold, and I was feeling a little under the weather, so our weekend was full of soup.  Udon, pho, and ramen from a new restaurant in Virginia – Boru Ramen.  It was a hit! We prefer the tonkatsu style (rich pork broth) like Toki, so when I saw this place specialized in tonkatsu, I had a feeling we would like it :) 0806161732_HDR 0806161742_HDR 0806161749_HDROur big adventure on Sunday was venturing out to get some pho and make a stop at T.J. Maxx for a new gym bag for Mike, and I couldn’t resist getting this happy mug! Should cheer me up in the months to come…because you guys, winter is coming.0807161223a_HDRLet’s talk about training last week.  Mileage is definitely starting to go up!

Richmond Marathon Training: Week 4

I’m nearing the end of my build-up phase, so I’m happy to say this this week went pretty much as planned.  I needed to hit all my runs and make the higher mileage this week since week 3 was a bit of a set-back.  I wasn’t feeling 100% (it looks like Mike brought home another summer cold from the office) but I took boatloads of echinacea every day, made sleep a priority, and pushed myself to run even when I felt pretty tired.  In general, I find that I actually feel better after a run, and that was the case every time I ran this week.
plan part 1
Mon: Attempted speedwork on treadmill (4 miles total) – the plan for today was a 6 X 800 meter workout, and I managed to get through the warmup and about 3 repeats before feeling exhausted. I attempted the fourth repeat, felt lousy about 1 min in, and decided to throw in the towel and try again in a few days. Followed up with some core work at home.

Tue: Rest day – still exhausted

Wed: 6 X 800 meters outside (6.5 total) – I decided to try this workout again outside, and it went much better. The weather has been a bit cooler this week, so despite the usual humidity, I was able to hit the slower end of my goal pace range. The intervals ranged from 4:07 to 4:10, or about 8:12-8:20 pace.

Thurs: Rest day – I did a little core work.

Fri: 5 race pace miles outside (6.5 total) – This was a pretty great run – I never hit my goal pace (9:09) exactly but I felt strong and steady aside from the last mile, where I stopped a lot to catch my breath. Mile paces – 9:19, 9:12, 9:07, 9:14, 9:16 with a 9:14 average pace. I added a half mile warmup and 1.5 mile cooldown for 6.5 miles total.

Sat: 10 miles solo outside (10:41 pace) – I decided to sleep in and run solo, but Lucy had other plans for me ;) Anyone else have cats that get abnormally clingy in the morning? I gave up trying to sleep around 7 and rolled out for my run around 8.  The run went great, despite 89% humidity (!)- I wore my hydration pack full of ice and gatorade/water, listened to podcasts and just trucked along.  Some core work at home afterwards.

Sun: 6 miles on treadmill (10:51 pace) – We slept in again so I ended up pushing my run to the afternoon on the treadmill.  Easy miles while listening to the Serial podcast (still finishing up season 1, lol).  I started tearing up halfway through as I pictured my impassioned defense on the stand if I were Adnan and consequently lost the discussion thread for a good five minutes.  Totally normal, right?

Do you ever imagine weird situations while you run/exercise? Sometimes I daydream that I’m being kidnapped and I single-handedly defeat my attackers with a combination of martial arts and my Bruce-Willis-like shooting technique.

3 thoughts on “Hanson’s Richmond Week 4 (33 miles)

  1. Sister J

    I definitely imagine weird scenarios when I work out. I was shaking through squat jumps this weekend, and I kept telling myself that it was necessary to finish my set since it was good practice to jump over any mice I might find in my kitchen.

  2. Pingback: Richmond Marathon Plan (Part 1) – sneaker therapy

Leave a Reply

