Richmond Half Training: Week 13

Hey friends! Writing to you after a fun and busy weekend. We started the weekend on Friday night at small group as usual – and one of the women turned to me and asked if I wanted to run the Army 10 miler on Sunday! Um, yes – a 100 times yes – this race sells out so quickly every year and it’s one of the iconic DC races. I decided to use it as a “faster long run” since I was planning to run 10 miles anyway and I wasn’t in any shape to race.

Saturday morning, I slept in and ran an easy 3 miles before heading to Sushi Yoshi again with Mike! It’s definitely becoming a favorite with us – the weather was cold and rainy so I opted for the udon noodle soup, which came with a side of sushi (a salmon roll and several pieces of nigiri) as well as tempura.  I was pretty darn happy :)

We spent the rest of the day lounging and doing a few chores at home.  Sunday morning was ATM time!! I got up around 6:45 for my 8:30 race start – not bad at all.  I’ll do a race recap later, but this was one of the best organized races I’ve run.  I got home around noon and quickly showered before we headed over to an open house in Clifton (we go into house hunting mode for a few weeks every year, lol).  We grabbed lunch at at an excellent Thai restaurant nearby; I devoured both the chicken satay and my noodle dish.
1009161304_HDR.jpg
No work on Monday – hooray! I took care of some cleaning, food shopping, homework and then met up with Vivian at Kung Fu Tea around lunchtime. I got wintermelon milk green tea with jelly – so tasty and addicting. So happy to hear that they use lactose-free milk for nearly all their milk drinks!
1010161217_hdrI binge watched Orange is the New Black in the afternoon (I’m about halfway through the last season) and then we visited Shirlington for an oyster happy hour :) Food is my happy place.  Anyway, let’s talk about training last week.

Richmond Half Marathon Training: Week 13

I got a late start on last week, but got in some solid miles Weds – Sun.  I’m happy that I’m nailing my pace and long runs lately – the pace run is the one I’m most nervous about each week, but it’s also the most confidence building when I get it right.

Mon-Tues: rest days

Weds: 4 X hills (4 miles total) – I’m adding a little hill training every other week alternating with speedwork to build strength; this week was a 1 mile w/u followed by 2 min of inclines from 3-6 at a steady speed. I did 4 of these intervals with 2-3 min of recovery jogging in between, and finished with a 1 mile c/d. It was a fun workout that went fast!

Thurs: 4 miles easy outside (10:32 pace) – nice steady run with perfect running weather (60s and overcast :)

Fri: 4 race pace miles outside (5 total) – I skipped a warmup and started with race pace immediately (9:07 average). The 4 miles went pretty quickly and I was surprised at how much faster I was this week than last. I need to do a few more race pace runs to figure out my goals for Richmond! Finished with a 1 mile cooldown.

Sat: 3 miles easy (10:15 pace) – I swapped my Saturday and Sunday runs so that I could run the ATM on Sunday!

Sun: Army 10 Miler (10:00 pace) – I was so proud of this effort; it’s my fastest long run all year and the race was both windy and (very slightly) hilly at times. I’ll have a race recap up later this week!

Leave a Reply

