Friday Faves

We are off to our first holiday party of the month in a few hours – our company holiday party! I’m going bold with my wardrobe choice; blouse and pants instead of a dress since I’m tired of freezing my legs off while waiting for an uber/cab ;) But onto today’s post – it’s that time of the week where I share recent favorites around our household – running, food and other random stuff.

New Vacuum (for pet messes)
I mentioned a while ago that our cat Lucy has been sick, and one of the unfortunate side effects of her illness is that she’s been vomiting and making other messes once or twice a week. I had a small battery-powered hand vac that I used for messes previously, but it wasn’t able to keep up with the higher frequency and I wasn’t satisfied with the suction. So a month or two ago, I ended up upgrading to the Rug Doctor Portable Spot Machine and have been so happy with the purchase ever since. The suction is incredible, the large nozzle makes it easy to clean large messes, it takes only one or two passes to get deep set messes out of the carpet, and the dirty water tank is easy to empty and clean. Highly recommend for fellow pet owners.1118161618a_hdr

Holiday soaps
We don’t do a lot of Christmas decorations around the house since we’re usually at Mike’s or my parents’ place, but I love switching out our hand soaps for holiday scents! We both love this gingerbread one.1111160603_hdr

Scrapbooking
Mike bought me a travel scrapbook (it’s like the one from Up) years ago to document our trips and I fell behind sometime in 2012, lol. I decided to finish up our travel scrapbook this year with all the trips we’ve gone on in the past four years, and it’s been surprisingly relaxing and fun to work on (albeit time-consuming). We’ve enjoyed looking back on and remembering our trips, and I know we’ll enjoy the finished product for years to come.1118161618b_hdr

Yurbud 200 sport earbuds
I upgraded to the 200s after my old 100s died, and I love the slight upgrades on this model! The earbuds attach magnetically, which is great for storage or for keeping them around my neck when I don’t want music. I also think the soft earpieces (the blue part) are more securely attached on this model, which is great because my only complaint about the 100s was that the earpieces kept falling off and getting lost.1121161645a_hdr

This maple soy glazed salmon recipe
I’m always looking for new fish recipes because I know it’s good for us but I don’t love the flavor, so I tried this Skinnytaste recipe earlier this week. It was a big hit! I loved the sweet, salty and spicy glaze and Mike kept saying, “this is really good” while he polished off two pieces, haha.  We’ll be making this one again.1129161812_hdr

Any favorite fish recipes to share? Have you put up any holiday decorations yet?

Leave a Reply

