Weekend Highlights and Training Log (18 miles)

We went to our first holiday party of the year on Friday – our company party, held in the Mayflower Hotel in DC!

1202162302a_hdrTruth be told, we spent little time at the party itself and most of the evening at a pre-party held at a co-worker’s apartment.  Great snacks and drinks :)

Saturday morning, I ran a Jingle Bell 5K in Pentagon City, and was definitely feeling the effects of staying on my feet and not hydrating well the evening before.  All the same, I was happy I ran the race and we spent a happy afternoon at Dave and Buster’s afterwards #kidsforever.  I taught Sunday school again at church (I have a much-needed break this week) and we met up with our small group for dimsum at Golden King after service.  I didn’t feel like we did a whole lot this weekend, but the time flew by!

(Nov 28-Dec 4) Training Log

I had the best of intentions to not cram my runs together this week…and then I caught a bad cold over the weekend and took the first three days of the week off, lol. In hindsight, I think I could have managed a few easy miles on a couple of those rest days because my cold symptoms tend to disappear during and after a run (as they did on Thursday). I’m sure I’ll have more colds this winter, so I’ll be experimenting to learn when to push through a cold and when my body needs the rest.

Mon-Weds: rest days (cold)

Thurs: 6 miles easy on treadmill (10:36 pace) – I didn’t feel up to a run in the morning, so I came home early and got on the treadmill armed with some podcasts. Surprisingly, my cold symptoms didn’t bother me at all, but my calves were really tight after 3 days of rest. They finally warmed up around mile 3 and felt fine the rest of the run.

Fri: 3 miles easy (10:38 pace) – My legs felt a little sore from the prior evening’s run, so I kept a really easy pace and stretched my legs a couple of times to help them recover for Saturday’s race!

Sat: 5K (recap coming later) + 6 miles on the treadmill afterwards (10:47 pace)

Sun: rest – I intended to run another 6 miles, but felt pretty tired after Saturday’s workouts so I took another rest day!

After some thought, I’m upping the intensity of my cross-training workouts (and adding them back in) this week, starting with an Orangetheory class tonight! My goal is to gain strength and speed through cross-training, because I don’t think my speed workouts have been all that effective over the last couple of months.  I’m going to give my new schedule a few weeks before deciding how I want to approach training for my marathon in April next year.  Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

